Based at its headquarters in Amsterdam, the permanent team of Manifesta provides the backbone to our multi-faceted organization. While our core business is the governance and production of roving biennials, the day-to-day activities of Manifesta include overseeing the publication of catalogues, books and the tri-annual Manifesta Journal, maintaining our ever-growing archives and staging symposiums, international cultural events and our own Coffee Breaks.

The Manifesta team structure is based on a policy of sustainability, a sense of invention and an ongoing spirit of enthusiastic collaboration. Manifesta presents a dynamic synergy of local expertise with international and Dutch experience and pragmatism. With each subsequent edition of Manifesta, the curators conceptualize a new project – and they become our artistic partners.

Given the complex organization of such a large-scale enterprise, taking place in a different European host city or region every two years, the permanent team of Manifesta is a broad-ranging, flexible group of international experts who constantly focus on relaunching, elaborating and fine-tuning the biennial and all aligned Manifesta events. The survival and growth of Manifesta’s organizational model is due to its openness of policy, its facility for adaptation, its key desire for the of transfer knowledge, and its continuous stream of activity, of which the exhibitions play an essential role.

Supervisory Board

The Foundation has a Supervisory Board responsible for supervising the policy plan of the Director and the general business of the Foundation and its related organisation. The Board offers counsel to the Director.

The Supervisory Board is composed of senior professionals from the academic world, businesses and the international art world. The Supervisory Board of the Manifesta Foundation follows the Code Governance Cultuur of the Netherlands to ensure appropriate and transparent governance.


Alexander Rinnooy Kan (Chair)
Former Director, Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands and member of the Senate on behalf of Democrats 66, Netherlands

Gijs van Tuijl
Founding Director, Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg and former Director, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam

Hendrik Driessen
Director, De Pont Museum, Tilburg

Hendrikje Crebolder
Director of Development & Media, Rijks Museum, Amsterdam

Allard Huizing
Attorney at-Law, Greenberg Traurig, Amsterdam

Teresa Iarocci Mavica
Director, V-A-C Foundation, Moscow

Rob Defares
CEO and CO-founder of IMC, Amsterdam

Former Board Members

Veronika Ratzenböck, board member (2014-2017)
Daniel Birnbaum, board member (2002-2009)
Jan Boelen,  board member (2010-2013)
Francesco Bonami, board member (2002-2007)
Iara Boubnova, board member (2002-2009)
Fabio Cavallucci, board member (2006-2011)
Chris Dercon, board member (1994-2002)
Paul Domela, treasurer (2010-2015)
Charles Esche, board member (2008-2011)
Lourdes Fernandez, board member (2002-2006)
Martin Fritz, treasurer and board member (2002-2007)
Massimiliano Gioni, board member (2004-2009)
Andreas Hapkemeyer, Secretary General and board member (2006-2013)
Sirje Helme, board member (2007-2011)
Miguel Angel Hernandez Navarro, board member (2009)
Allard Huizing,  board member (2007-2013)
Maaretta Jaukkuri, board member (2002-2007)
Kasper König, board member (1994-2002)
Vasif Kortun, board member (1999-2002)
Enrico Lunghi, board member (1996-2000)
Sarat Maharaj, board member (2007-2010)
Viktor Misiano, Chair (2010-2014)
Henry Meyric Hughes, Chair (1999-2007)
Hans-Ulrich Obrist, board member (1994-2002)
Raqs Media Collective (Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula and Shuddabratha Sengupta), board members (2009-2013)
Esther Regueira Mauriz, board member (2011-2014)
Lilijana Stepancic, board member (1993-2000)
Gilane Tawadros, Chair and board member (2002-2009)
Vicente Todoli, board member (2002-2007)
Barbara Vanderlinden, board member (1997-2002)
Pieter van Welzen, board member (2013-2014)
Igor Zabel, (1999-2005)

Manifesta 1 (1993-1997)
René Block, advisory board member Manifesta 1
Joop van Caldenborgh, Chair National Committee Manifesta 1
Geert Dales, treasurer National Committee Manifesta 1
Chris Dercon, board member National Committee Manifesta 1,
Marlene Dumas, board National Committee Manifesta 1
Robert de Haas, Chair National Committee Manifesta 1
Wim van Krimpen, board National Committee Manifesta 1
Svenrobert Lundquist, advisory board member Manifesta 1
Anda Rottenberg, advisory board member Manifesta 1
Martijn Sanders, board National Committee Manifesta 1
Rob Scholte, board National Committee Manifesta 1
Vincent Vlasblom, board National Committee Manifesta 1
Herman Wessels, board National Committee Manifesta 1